History Research Guide

Home Librarian Contact Us
Google icon Find Us:
http://iupui.campusguides.com/librarians
phone icon Call Us:
317-274-0469
mobile icon Text Us:
317-333-7556
email icon Email Us:
refdesk@iupui.edu 
Twitter icon Follow Us:
@IUPUILibrary
Facebook icon Like Us:
IUPUI Library
Instagram Logo Follow Us:
IUPUILibrary
phone icon IM Us:
askalibrarian

Student Services

Hello,  I'm Bill Orme, your Librarian.  I am happy to assist with all your history and American Studies research needs.  Please don't hesitate to contact me. My contact information is on the left side of this guide.

How I can help:

  • One-on-one research assistance in person, via phone, email
  • Topic development
  • IUCAT search assistance
  • Database search assistance
  • Help finding primary resources
  • Overall research process organization
  • Citation style assistance
Faculty Services

Classroom Instruction

  • Research guides and information sessions tailored to your class
  • General information literacy/research help sessions
  • Topic selection
  • Primary vs. secondary resource
  • How to find book reviews
  • Scholarly vs. popular resources
  • How to search IUCAT for beginners and the more advanced researcher
  • Search strategies for article indexing databases
  • Search strategies for primary resources
  • Referral for student one-on-one research assistance

Research Consultations

You are the expert in your area of research but I may be able to offer insight on search strategies in new information sources.  Please don't hesitate to let me know what you are working on.  I'm happy to meet with Graduate Assistants that are supporting your research efforts.  Additionally, If I know what you are working on, I keep this in mind while making purchases for the library.

Library Resource Purchasing

Never hesitate to request purchases of books, films, audio, databases, journals, etc.  I can't guarantee fulfillment of every request but I try very hard to purchase material that will be of most use to your research and our students' research.

Scholarly Output Sharing and Preservation

University Library supports a variety of mechanisms for sharing and preserving your published, unpublished scholarly output as well as the primary resource materials (datasets, photos, historic documents, etc.) collected during your research. Check out the IUPUI University Library Center for Digital Scholarship to learn more about the following services and opportunities: 

Open Journals at IUPUI In support of open access to research, University Library supports the Open Journal System which manages the full journal publication process from article submission, review, editing, and publishing. Cultural Heritage Digital Collections University Library supports digitization, description, and online access of cultural heritage and primary resource research collections. These collections often come about through partnerships with local community organizations such as the Indiana Historical Society, Indianapolis Speedway, and Indiana Landmarks Foundation. Also supported are faculty contributed collections such as the Irish People newspaper from Dr. Bob White of the School of Liberal Arts, The British Intelligencer from Dr. Jason Kelly of the Department of History, Tiananmen Square, 1989 from Dr. Edgar Huang of the School of Informatics, and Neighborhood of Saturdays from Dr. Susan Hyatt of the Department of Anthropology. IUPUI Data Support Resources Manage and archive data. IUPUI Digital Scholarship Fund If you are an IUPUI faculty member and have or know of a unique collection that would contribute to scholarly research and/or instruction, University Library has grants to support the digitization, description, and online access of such collections. IUPUI Open Access Publishing Fund Fund to support author fees required by some journals for publishing an openly accessible article in that journal. IUPUI ScholarWorks The scholarly output of IUPUI. Includes preprints, theses and dissertations, conference papers, student capstone projects, faculty-created learning objects, data sets, etc. Reference & More Finding Reference Works in IUCAT

Reference works are a great way to find general information about a topic or to help you find a topic for a research paper.  Finding reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, or bibliographies in IUCAT is easy!

  • Login to IUCAT
  • Click on Advanced Search
  • In the keyword search box type in a general keyword such as: women
  • In the Subject search box type in one of the following
    • Encyclopedias
    • Dictionaries
    • Bibliography
    • Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Biography Databases American National Biography Profiles of men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped American history. Gale Biography In Context (Gale) Biographies in literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to 2009. Book Reviews in Article Databases

Scholarly book reviews are often located in the same journals in which scholarly articles appear, therefore begin your search within the same article indexing databases.  In the majority of these search interfaces you can go to Advanced Search and limit to "Reviews."  Alternatively you can add the term "review" to your keyword search query.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
America: History and Life (EBSCO) Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Abstracts of articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). JSTOR Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences. MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) General interest, business, health, and historical U.S. documents, including Consumer Reports, Business Week, NY Times, and The Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Book Review Databases

There are also several databases that are specifically for book reviews.  Understand that the reviews you find here may or may not be written by historians or professionals in the history field.  For example, librarians review a history reference work but have different criteria for reviewing than a professional historian would.

Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO) Reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction books, 1983-present. Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO) Reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction books, 1905-1982. Journal Information

Understanding more about a journal or published helps researchers determine the focus, context, and possible bias or value of a given publication/set of information.  Information about journals can be gleened from many locations.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory Information on periodicals (active and ceased) including subjects and publication information. Tells you if a journal is peer-reviewed. Journal Citation Reports (ISI) Tool to evaluate the influence of research and journals (most frequently cited, impact factor). In the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. SCImago Journal and Country Ranking The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journal's Website The journal's website should provide up to date information on the editors, publication schedule, submission method, scope. Some websites will include statistics about the journal such as: acceptance or decline rate, H-index (metric that intends to indicate impact of a journal), or other such valuing metrics. Journal's Print Front Matter Get the print journal in hand and take a look at the front matter, typically prior to the Table of Contents. A great deal of information about the journal is often contained here. Contact Me Books IUCAT

IUCAT Button

IUCAT is Indiana University's online library catalog. Search it to find items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. You can access IUCAT from any computer connected to the Internet or at walk-up terminals located throughout the IU Library system.

IUCAT Quick Search:

Title:
Author:
Subject:
Match:
Library: IUPUI University Library
  Herron Art Library
Online Only:
 
WorldCat Narrow Search Box

IU doesn't have every book. If you are not finding what you need in IUCAT, then search WorldCat, which contains books from libraries all over the country. If you find a good book, you can request it via InterLibrary Loan.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Found a Book at University Library, Now What?

When you want to find an item on the Library shelves:

University Library and many other academic libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System and Call Numbers, not the Dewey Decimal System that you may have seen at your local public library.

At the bottom of an IUCAT record, you will see the call number and basic location for the item as shown in this example:

Indpls - IUPUI University Library (I-UNIVLIB) Location
P90 .G354 2006 (this is the call number) 1) Stacks

If the location for an item in the University Library collection says "Stacks" the item will be on the:

  • 3rd floor shelves if the call number starts with the letters A-N
  • 4th floor shelves if the call number starts with the letters P-Z

Reference materials, Current Periodicals, Microforms, and Government Documents are all in the Reference Room on the 2nd floor.

IUPUI's Philanthropic Studies Library is on the 2nd floor.

DVDs are kept behind the Circulation desk on the 2nd floor.

Special Collections are on the Lower Level

Library Maps

When you want to view an e-book:

Click on the link in the IUCAT record. For a demonstration, see the Viewing e-books Tutorial or ask for Reference Help.

E-Books

If you are looking for full-text books that can be accessed and read online, then e-books are for you. Most of our e-books can be found by title in our catalog, IUCAT, but they can also be accessed or browsed directly in the database through which they are provided.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Ebooks in history, recommended and reviewed by historians. Ebook Central (ProQuest) Full-text books and reports in multiple subject areas. Formerly ebrary. Google Book Search Google has photocopied and made available online thousands of books, both scholarly and popular, from libraries across the county. Some books can be viewed in full-text while others provide only snippets from the book. Because of the controversial (due to copyright issues) nature of the Google Book Search project you may want to make sure it is OK with your professor before using Google Book Search as means for class research. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) Ebooks on a variety of topics. Contact Me Articles Scholarly v. Popular Infographic
Text alternative for web accessibility infographic

Scholarly v Popular Infographic

Finding the full-text of an article from a citation

When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.

Search for Periodical Titles
 

 

Example of a Journal Citation (text in bold=title you want to search)

Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.

If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail. 

Searching Article Databases by Topic

Background

University Library subscribes to hundreds of article indexing databases which are available to you on campus or from home once you have logged in with your user ID and password. These databases are important because they allow to search for articles by keyword, topic, title, author, etc. Remember, a library catalog such as IUCAT will allow you to search for journal titles, but will not allow you to search for specific articles within the journal.

Search Tips

To find out which databases are most likely to have the kinds of articles that will be helpful to you, check the "Database Descriptions", "Title List", or other "information" or "about" options available in a particular database. See the section below on Suggested Databases for History specific databases.

Before you start entering any search terms, spend a few minutes trying to think of as many relevant terms and combinations of terms as you can. This will help you to avoid getting stuck in a rut with the first terms that come to mind.

If you need help in coming up with terms, you may want to try the databases' "Thesaurus" or "Subject Headings" features.

Check out the "Help" or "Search Tips" to learn some of the search features specific to that database. Most databases provide similar features, but the methods may vary.

Try the databases' Advanced Search feature, which usually gives you the ability to search multiple fields (author, title, keyword, subject, etc) with one search and may offer additional ways to expand or limit your search.

If your first search strategy does not work, try another approach. Remember, too, that you can ask for Reference Help.

Suggested Article Databases

The following databases a variety of material type including academic articles, popular articls from magazines and newspapers, encyclopedic entries, book reviews, dissertations, and sometimes even books.  The most common indexed type is article.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
America: History and Life (EBSCO) Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Directory of Open Access History Journals Browse for subject-related journals. Provides links to Open Access (or freely available) full-text, peer or editorial reviewed, history related journals. Includes various areas of history including US and non-US HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Index of articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Abstracts of articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Humanities Source (EBSCO) Full-text and citations to articles in the humanities, including book reviews. IngentaConnect (Ingenta) Access to multidisciplinary academic and professional research articles. JSTOR Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences. Nexis Uni News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic). MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) General interest, business, health, and historical U.S. documents, including Consumer Reports, Business Week, NY Times, and The Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest) Article citations published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Project Muse Full-text scholarly articles in arts & humanities and social sciences. Finding the Full-Text of an Article - Long

Text alternative for web accessibility infographic

Process for finding full-text

Contact Me Primary Resources Primary v. Secondary - Infographic

Text alternative for web accessibility infographic

Primary v. Secondary Sources

​Find Primary Sources

The Real Deal

If you are interested in viewing the original primary resource (rather than a preproduction, reprint, or digital version) you will need to visit an archive or special collection.  Each archive will collect for a certain topic or time period.  Visiting that archive's website and/or online catalog will help you determine what it holds. WorldCat also includes records for archival collections.  Some Indianapolis archives and libraries with original primary resources include: IUPUI University Library Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives, Indiana State Library, Indiana State Archives, and Indiana Historical Society. 

To best access original archival and manuscript collections via IUCAT, WorldCat or other library catalogs, look for mechanisms in the advanced search functions that allow you to limit by archive or manuscript.  For example in WorldCat's Advanced Search screen you can put a check next to Archival Materials.

  • National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) Created by the Library of Congress beginning in 1959 this catalog brings together the catalog records for millions of manuscript collections from across United States libraries, archives, museums, etc.  1959-1986 records/indexes are only accessible in print at IUPUI (other libraries may have access to digital versions).  See call # Z6620.U5 N3 for those volumes.  Post-1959 records are accessible via WorldCat.
ArchiveGrid Database of archival collections in thousands of libraries and museums around the world.

Reprinted Primary Resources in IUCAT, World Cat, or other library catalogs

Remember that primary sources may be in the form of reprints (monograph compilations, reprinted letters, diaries, microfilm, etc.)  Doing a search in a library catalog adding the following subject headings to your keyword search, will help you find these reprints as well as original archival collections:

charters

correspondence

diaries

early works to 1800

 

 

 

 

interviews

manuscripts

oratory

pamphlets

pictorial works

sources

speeches

 

Freely Available Digital Primary Resources 

Some of the collections of primary resources listed above are freely available resources, digitized and placed online for scholarly use by cultural institutions such as libraries, museums, and historical societies.  Many other collections of this nature exist and can be located through a simple Google search.  Search strategies for locating possible collections: 1) Try a simple keyword search (Ex. Indianapolis Sanborn maps) 2) Try searching for the museums and libraries geographically or topically related to your research project. (Ex. Indiana Historical Society)

A word of caution, If you are searching the open web for primary sources make sure you carefully evaluate the source and site.  Don’t just assume the digitized document is a quality resource.  University of Washington has developed a guide for determining quality and for proper citation of such sources.

Census Data Historical Statistics of the United States Historical statistics including population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. IUCAT: Library Catalog Records for items (books, multimedia, etc.) held by IU Libraries statewide. Get items from other IU libraries via "Request This." Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts Provided the U.S. Census Bureau, this page contains a variety of information on every census from 1790 through 2000. Contains numerous facts, figures, and statistical abstracts, along with questionnaires and instructions from each census. Includes historic census data from the Decennial Censuses from 1790-1860, 1990, 2000 (PDF). Contains comments and Table of Contents on 1870-1980 Censuses Historical Census Browser 2010 Census Data University Library Research Guide for Government Resources: Census Data General History Digital Primary Resources 19th (Nineteenth) Century Collections Online (Gale) A resource for 19th century studies, includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. UL's access includes Archives 1-12. Archives Unbound (Gale) Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Gale Primary Sources Search across all of our library’s Gale primary source collections. Center for History and New Media (Projects Section) Produced by George Mason University, this resource offers multiple search engine. "There are literally thousands of links to historic journals, to Web sites for departments of history throughout the world, and to other sites that offer digital historical information." -Choice Magazine Google Book Search Google has photocopied and made available online thousands of books, both scholarly and popular, from libraries across the county. Some books can be viewed in full-text while others provide only snippets from the book. Because of the controversial (due to copyright issues) nature of the Google Book Search project you may want to make sure it is OK with your professor before using Google Book Search as means for class research. Guide to Historical Newspapers, Library of Congress The Library of Congress has created a how-to guide for researching historic newspapers. Includes links to indexes and full-text, online, digitized historic newspaper collections across the US and beyond. HathiTrust Digital Library CIC Google Government Documents Project aims to digitize approximately 1-1.5 million federal government documents, which will be made available in HathiTrust. In the First Person An index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives New York Public Library Digital Library Collection Gateway to the New York Public Library's (NYPL) "rare and unique" (from the website) online digital collections. Includes searchable databases, online exhibitions, and digital texts. Time Magazine: The Vault A selection of Time Magazine full-text articles from 1923-present. Considered a popular resource, not a scholarly resource. WWI Document Archive World History Digital Primary Resources 17th (Seventeenth) and 18th (Eighteenth) Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive (Gale) Full-text 17th and 18th century British newspapers published mostly in London, with some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India. Part of Gale NewsVault. 18th (Eighteenth) Century Collections Online (Gale) Works published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. 19th (Nineteenth) Century British Newspapers (Gale) Full runs of national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society. Access includes: 1.) 19th Century British Library Newspapers Parts 1 & 2 and 2.) British Newspapers, Parts 3 & 4: 1780-1950. 19th (Nineteenth) Century UK Periodicals (Gale) UK Periodicals from the 19th century. Part of Gale NewsVault where it can be cross-searched with other Gale historical newspaper archives. Acta Sanctorum (Chadwyck-Healey) Collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. Runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Avalon Project Launched by Yale University Law School, this site offers primary Anglo and American documents from the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Allows user to browse by century and includes a search engine. Brazilian & Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library (Gale) Covers topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence. Britannia-Documents Includes transcription of significant documents in British history including those created during the Middle Ages. British and Irish History at IUPUI Guide Created by IUPUI history faculty, Dr. Jason Kelly, this guide includes links to freely avialable online primary resource material for Irish and British studies. British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) Women's Letters and Diaries, 1500-1950. British History Online British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Free registration is required for full-text access. Includes local, geography, urban, Parliamentary, and religious history of all areas of Great Britain including Wales, from 11th to 19th century. British Library Newspapers (Gale) Newspapers from the British Library 1732-1950. British Periodicals (ProQuest) Full text of periodicals from the late 17th to the early 20th centuries. Topics include literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. Chatham House Online Archive (Gale) The research, publications, speeches and archives of a leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House. Our subscription includes: Module 1 (1920-1979); and Module 2 (1980-2008). Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (Gale) British Foreign Office documents from occupied territories in Europe, and from Germany itself after the cessation of normal peacetime diplomatic channels. Daily Mail Historical Archive (Gale) Archive of the paper from1896-2004. Also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners 1923-1931. Part of Gale NewsVault. Early English Books Online (Chadwyck-Healey) Images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Early English Prose Fiction (Chadwyck-Healey) Works of prose fiction from 1500-1700. Economist Historical Archive (Gale) Full-text of The Economist (1843-2013). Essential for politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.Part of Gale NewsVault. English Historical Documents Primary documents from 500-1914. Includes treaties, statutes, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, letters, diaries, etc. EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe This website, housed by the Harold B. Lee Library of Brigham Young University, is essentially a bibliography of other websites that contain primary documents. This site will lead you to sites that contain selections of transcriptions, facsimiles, and translations. From this homepage you will find a listing of countries. Within each country is a listing of topics and/or time periods. Within each topic or time period you will find websites that link to primary documents. Illustrated London News Historical Archive (Gale) The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, archive from 1842-2003. Part of Gale NewsVault. Imperial War Museum IWM is unique in its coverage of conflicts, especially those involving Britain and the Commonwealth, from the First World War to the present day. Internent Library of Early Journals: A digital library of 18th and 19th century journals A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. Inlcudes full-text PDF versions of articles from the following journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes andQueries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine. London Low Life Rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (Gale) Treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, legal forms, pamphlets, letters, and speeches from British Commonwealth and American law, 1800-1926. National Geographic Virtual Library Full access to the magazine’s archive. Includes: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-current; National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World; National Geographic Kids. Patrologia Latina (Chadwyck-Healey) Complete version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale) Every issue of the pioneering photojournalism newspaper. The Picture Post (1938-1957) was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak. Part of Gale NewsVault. Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale) The transatlantic history of slavery including books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. Times Digital Archive (Gale) Archive of The Times (London). Part of Gale NewsVault. Now includes access to supplement that makes current content as current as possible. World History in Context (Gale) Contains reference, scholarly articles, primary sources, and images, maps and charts on world history. (Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.)
World History in Video (North America) (Alexander Street Press) Documentaries to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. World Newsreels Online, 1929–1966 (Alexander Street Press) Key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Includes: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. Primary documents on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period. American History Digital Primary Resources 19th (Nineteenth) Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 19th century U.S. newspapers cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Part of Gale NewsVault where it can be cross-searched with other Gale historical newspaper archives. African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 Newspapers from more than 35 states. AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History A section of the WWW Virtual Library. A chronological listing of primary documents and maps related to American History. American Civil War: Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) Diaries from North and South, rich and poor, and international visitors. American Memory Project-Library of Congress Housing more than 7 million digitized items, this collection contains items relating to U.S. history, people, politics, and culture. Items include photographs, maps, illustrations, manuscripts, diaries, sheet music, motion pictures, and sound recordings. American Periodicals (ProQuest) Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Amistad Digital Archive While the educational guides on the site are geared towards a middle and high school audience the primary resources, including: photographs, audio, video, and documents, are of use to all research levels. Black Panthers Digital Collection from Michigan State University Materials concerning the Black Panther Party, an advocate of the Black Power movement. Black Studies in Video (Alexander Street Press) Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Black Thought & Culture (Alexander Street Press) Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, 1700-present. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present" - Chronicling America Homepage. Civil Rights Digital Library (University of Georgia) "The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale"- Homepage Colonial America Materials from the archives of the British government covering 17th and 18th-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. We have access to: Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries, and Module 2: Towards Revolution. Digital Histories A collaborative project hosted by the University of Houston's website. Includes primary resources, reusable learning objects, timelines, and more. Digital Public Library of America A portal for digital cultural heritage collections from a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, universities, libraries, historical societies, museums and beyond from across the United States. Includes books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials. Discovering American Women's History Online Women's history research guide page from Middle Tennessee State University. Features digital collections of primary sources, as well as tools for finding primary resources. Documenting the American South "Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (from website) Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (NewsBank) Lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to images of the books themselves. Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Supplement From the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800 (NewsBank) Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the U.S. during the 17th and 18th centuries. Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800 (NewsBank) Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the U.S. during the 17th and 18th centuries. Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters (for example, between the French and Huron), 1474-present. Historical Statistics of the United States Historical statistics including population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Hoosier State Chronicles Indiana's historic newspapers provided by the Indiana State Library and funded by IMLS under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Indiana History Online (Gale) Primary source documents (state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches, etc.) for the study of Indiana history. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
IUPUI University Library Digital Collections Primarly focusing on Indianapolis history but spanning to all of Indiana the collections include early Indianapolis maps, the full run of The Indianapolis Recorder, early issues of Indianapolis newspapers, images from Indianapolis neighborhoods, civil war telegraph books, German Americana, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and more. LGBT Thought & Culture Books, articles, and archival materials documenting political, social and cultural movements, 20th century-present. Making of America: Cornell University A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. These collections are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Making of America: University of Michigan A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. These collections are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Migration to New Worlds Movement of people from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Includes government documents, diaries, ship logs, oral histories, and secondary research aids. New York Times with Index, ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) Backfile, 1851-latest available. In combination with the Historical New York Times (1851-2005). North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (Alexander Street Press) Personal views of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) Collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years. Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900 The development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through material aimed at the general public. Proquest Congressional (Index 1789-present) Access to U.S. Congressional materials including hearings, bills, Congressional Record, compiled legislative histories, statistical datasets, and more. Readers' Guide Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) Full-text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale) Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 (Alexander Street Press) Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Umbra Umbra: Search African American History (umbrasearch.org) is a free digital platform that brings together content documenting African American history and culture in order to enable the creation of new works—research projects, scholarship, curricula, art of all kinds—that illuminate parts of our history that have not been enough broadly accessible. U.S. History in Context (Gale) Primary documents, reference articles, and journals covering U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. (Access is restricted to Marion County residents only. Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation.)
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 (Gale) Records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court. Valley of the Shadow Details the life in two American communities, one Northern and one Southern, from the time of John Brown's Raid through the era of Reconstruction. In this digital archive you may explore thousands of original letters and diaries, newspapers and speeches, census and church records, left by men and women in August County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Giving voice to hundreds of individual people, the Valley Project tells forgotten stories of life during the era of the Civil War. Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press) Primary sources and documents of women in social movements in the U.S. Women Working, 1800-1930 "Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images"-collection's website. Contact Me Request item/ILL Request This

Use Request This to obtain books located at another IU library. Most books arrive within 4-7 working days and can be picked up at University Library's 2nd floor Service Desk. 

When you find a book in IUCAT that isn't at IUPUI, simply click the Request This button.

Request This

Request This Information InterLibrary Loan - Infographic
Text alternative for web accessibility infographic

InterLibrary Loan Process

Contact Me Citation Organizations Libraries, Museums, Historical Societies, etc.

Indianapolis

  • Butler University Special Collections/Archives
    "Established in 1987, the archives preserve the institutional, physical, scholarly, and, to some extent, the personal history of the university, its programs, facilities, and people. Strengths of special collections cover such areas as Jean Sibelius, Abraham Lincoln, Kin Hubbard, Gaar Williams, 15th to 19th century botanical and zoological prints, early educational materials, 19th-century American sheet music, and African American poets." (from website)
  • Chris Gonzales GLBT Library and Archives Contains primary resources related to the history and development of the organized GLBT community in Indianapolis.
  • Historic Indianapolis Popular blog about Indianapolis history
  • Indiana Historic Landmarks Foundation
    "Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana saves and restores irreplaceable architectural heritage, from outstanding national landmarks like West Baden Springs to modest historic houses, barns and bridges. If you're interested in the historic preservation and restoration of Indiana landmarks or heritage tours and visiting historic sites, you've come to the right place." (from website)
  • Indiana Historical Society
    Since 1830, the Indiana Historical Society has been "collecting preserving, interpreting and disseminating Indiana history" and is "one of the largest archival repositories of material on the history of Indiana and the Old Northwest." Over 25,000 digital images are contained in the Collections section.. (from website)
  • Indiana State Archives
    "The Indiana State Archives is the official repository of Indiana government records of permanent historical and legal significance. It principally contains records generated by state government and state agencies, but also holds a major collection of county and local government records." (from website)
  • Indiana State Library
    "Through its history, the Indiana State Library has developed strong collections in the fields of Indiana history and culture, Indiana state government and United States government publications, Indiana newspapers, genealogy and family history resources on Indiana and the eastern United States, Braille, large print, and books on tape for the visually impaired, library science, and American history, politics, and economics." (from website)
  • Indianapolis Public Library
    "IMCPL's collection of over 2.1 million items includes a variety of formats: books, books on tape, magazines, large print materials, audiocassettes, videocassettes, compact discs and DVD's. Foreign language materials are an integral part of the Library's collection." (from website)
  • Irvington Historical Society
  • IUPUI Ruth Lilly Special Collections/Archives
    Contains significant primary sources for the study of:
    • Philanthropy (including the records of foundations, nonprofit organizations, fund raising firms, associations, and individuals)
    • German-Americana (including the records of national and local organizations)
    • Individuals and organizations with ties to the University and Indianapolis (General Collections)
    • History of IUPUI preserving the official records of IUPUI and its various predecessor institutions.
    • IUPUI University Archives
  • Marian University Library Digital Collectionscontain primarily Marian University history but also some broader Indianapolis themes.

    National

    • Listing of State Archives + Historical Societies
      Provided by the Ohio Historical Society, contains some dead links, but overall useful site.
    • National ArchivesThe National Archives is responsible for permanently preserving important historical and legal documents that are created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government
    • Smithsonian Institution
      Research and educational institution funded by the federal government and other endowments that is committed to promoting innovation, research and discovery in science.
Contact Me Open Access/Digital Scholarship Course specfic pages Course Specific Course Specific Guides

Use the drop down menu that appears in the Course Specific tab at the top of the page to navigate to guides/information created for specific courses.  Not all courses will have a specific guide and these guides are only meant to supplement the full History Research Guide NOT replace it.  I have included additional information on the course specific pages that pertain only to the topic and assignments in that class.

Thank you,

Kristi

History of the Family in the Atlantic World Kostroun J495 Find Primary Resources Related to Family in the Atlantic World

Reprinted Primary Resources

Digital Primary Resources

General History

  • Center for History and New Media (Projects section)
    Produced by George Mason University, this resource offers multiple search engine. "There are literally thousands of links to historic journals, to Web sites for departments of history throughout the world, and to other sites that offer digital historical information." -Choice Magazine
  • Guide to Historical Newspapers, Library of Congress
    The Library of Congress has created a how-to guide for researching historic newspapers. Includes links to indexes and full-text, online, digitized historic newspaper collections across the US and beyond.
  • In the First Person
    • An index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives.
  • New York Public Library Digital Library Collection
    Gateway to the New York Public Library's (NYPL) "rare and unique" (from the website) online digital collections. Includes searchable databases, online exhibitions, and digital texts.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
  • Time Magazine Archive
    A selection of Time Magazine full-text articles from 1923-present. Considered a popular resource, not a scholarly resource.

British History

  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection  (Gale)
    The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers  (Gale)
    19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals  (Gale)
    19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
  • Archives Unbound  (Gale)
    Archives Unbound addresses students and scholars' pressing need to see primary, unpublished archival documents. There is no better way to study the past than through consultation of primary source documents. Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level.
  • Avalon Project
    Launched by Yale University Law School, this site offers primary Anglo and American documents from the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Allows user to browse by century and includes a search engine.
  • Britannia-Documents
    Includes transcription of significant documents in British history including those created during the Middle Ages.
  • British and Irish History at IUPUI, History Guide
    Created by IUPUI history faculty, Dr. Jason Kelly, this guide includes links to freely avialable online primary resource material for Irish and British studies.
  • British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of nearly 500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
  • British History Online
    British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Free registration is required for full-text access. Includes local, geography, urban, Parliamentary, and religious history of all areas of Great Britain including Wales, from 11th to 19th century. \
  • British Newspapers 1600-1900  (Gale)
    The British Newspapers 1600-1900 is the most significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. New conservation and imaging techniques and a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library offers unparalleled access and discoverability to this valuable historical and cultural archive. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.
  • British Periodicals (ProQuest) This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
  • Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945  (Gale)
    offers fully word-searchable original British Foreign Office documents from the National Archives of the UK, representing the majority of Britain's information flow from occupied territories in Europe, and from Germany itself after the cessation of normal peacetime diplomatic channels. Resistance, economic and social conditions and intelligence operations are all reported through telegrams, letters, coded messages and reports, and this documentary material is contextualised by a Chronology of World War II, cine film footage from the Imperial War Museum London and newly commissioned essays on life under German occupation in France by Prof. Rod Kedward, the Low Countries by Dr Dirk Martin and Norway by Dr Chris Mann. File selection and Introduction by Michael Stenton.
  • The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006  (Gale)
    The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006 ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is an unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries. 
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online  (Gale)
    Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
  • Internent Library of Early Journals: A digital library of 18th and 19th century journals
    A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. Inlcudes full-text PDF versions of articles from the following journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes andQueries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
  • The Times Digital Archive (Gale)
    The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online.
    By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
  • The World War I Document Archive Documents pertaining to WWI. One particularly pertinent section on this website is Memorials, Personal Reminiscences.

American History

  • AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History
    A section of the WWW Virtual Library. A chronological listing of primary documents and maps related to American History.
  • The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
    An excellent resource for the American Civil War contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Includes table of contents, as well as simple and advanced search options.
  • American Memory Project-Library of Congress
    Housing more than 7 million digitized items, this collection contains items relating to U.S. history, people, politics, and culture. Items include photographs, maps, illustrations, manuscripts, diaries, sheet music, motion pictures, and sound recordings.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (ProQuest) 
    Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
  • Amistad Digital Archive (Columbia University)
    While the educational guides on the site are geared towards a middle and high school audience the primary resources, including: photographs, audio, video, and documents, are of use to all research levels.
  • Black Thought & Culture (Alexander Street Press) When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
    "This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)" - Chronicling America Homepage.
  • Civil Rights Digital Library (University of Georgia)
    "The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale"- Homepage.
  • Digital History A collaborative project hosted by the University of Houston's website.
  • Discovering American Women's History: A Research Guide
    Women's history research guide page from Middle Tennessee State University. Features digital collections of primary sources, as well as tools for finding primary resources.
  • Documenting the American South
    "Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (from website)
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
    "Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this database lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to images of the books themselves." -University of Virginia Libraries
  • Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
    "This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways." (from website)
  • Historical New York Times
    (scroll to Historic New York Times) Searchable online database which houses a digitized version of New York Times back to mid 1800's.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
    "Contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Users will be able to graph individual tables or to combine data from different tables into "custom tables" and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications."--Cambridge University Press website
  • US History in Context (Gale)
    Features over 100,000,000 pages of more than 5,000 primary documents, along with maps, images, and numerous secondary resources. "The primary purpose of the History Resource Center: U.S. is to provide students, their teachers, and library patrons with a single place to begin researching the vast topic of U.S. history from the earliest days of discovery and exploration to the present."
  • Indiana History Online (via Gale)
    Indiana History Online is an online resource comprised of a total of 351 works. Among these tens of thousands of pages readers will find not only the more general historical facts on the people, events, and places that made Indiana the state it is today, but also the detailed, lesser-known aspects of the Hoosier state. Many of the documents here are not readily available anywhere else, and whether student or scholar, the database has user-friendly search features that simplify your research. (from website)
  • IUPUI University Library Digital Collections
    Primarly focusing on Indianapolis history but spanning to all of Indiana the collections include early Indianapolis maps, the full run of The Indianapolis Recorder, early issues of Indianapolis newspapers, images from Indianapolis neighborhoods, civil war telegraph books, German Americana, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and more.
  • Making of America by University of Michigan and Cornell University
    A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. These collections are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
    "Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines." (from website)
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries
    "Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before." (from website)
  • Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
    Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (Alexander Street Press)
    The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 38,000 pages.
  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)
    Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa. Future parts are Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. Once completed, it will include over 5 million pages.
  • U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978  (Gale)
    Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press) This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
  • Women' Working, 1800-1930
    "Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images"-collection's website.

Finding Freely Availble Digital Collections

Some of the collections of primary resources listed above are freely available resources, digitized and placed online for scholarly use by cultural institutions such as libraries, museums, and historical societies.  Many other collections of this nature exist and can be located through a simple Google search.  Search strategies for locating possible collections: 1) Try a simple keyword search (Ex. Indianapolis Sanborn maps) 2) Try searching for the museums and libraries geographically or topically related to your research project. (Ex. Indiana Historical Society)

A word of caution, If you are searching the open web for primary sources make sure you carefully evaluate the source and site.  Don’t just assume the digitized document is a quality resource.  Follow this link to a guide for determining quality and for proper citation of such sources http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/RUSA/

Useful Subject Headings

Geographic

Chesapeake Bay Region

United States

North America

New England

Middle Atlantic States

Washington (D.C.)

New York [any state by name]

 

 

 

 

Time

Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775

17th century

18th century

People

Women

Mothers

Fathers

Gender

Family

Kinship

Indians of North America

Indentured servants

Slaves

African Americans

Community

Irish Americans

German Americans

Jews

Polish Americans

Children

Topics

History

Economic conditions

Social conditions

Race relations

Church history

Leisure

Public opinion

History, military

Sex role

Foreign relations

Politics and government

Child rearing

Marriage customs and rights

Frontier and pioneer life

Religion

Religious aspects

Slavery

Social life and customs

 

 

Related Journals

Journal of Family History

IUPUI has online and in paper.  Follow link for various access options.

 History of the Family

Indexed and some full text available via Academic Search in EBSCO.

William and Mary Quarterly

Full-text of all issues available through JSTOR.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, online bibliographic organization tool.  See the Library's guide.

Contact Me Indy Historical J542 Contact Me Course specific guide for Dr. Wokeck's J495 course on American Immigration Wokeck J495 Immigration Finding Secondary Sources

Articles

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    "Academic Search Elite offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost." (from website)
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    An index with abstracts, may lead to full-text, All scholarly. Advanced search easily allows one to limit by time period, browse subject headings, and select the language of the article. American history only.
  • Humanities Full-Text (EBSCO)
    Includes full text of social history. Good source for examining how various topics have been presented in literature throughout history as well as locating social history topics.
  • Humanities Index International (EBSCO)
    "Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 2,000 titles and contains more than 2 million records." (from website)
  • J-STOR
    All full-text and scholarly articles. Presents the back-files or the complete run of important journals up to a relatively recent embargo date. No controlled vocabulary or subject headings used. May limit keyword search to abstract, title, full-text. This database is complemented well by the ProjectMuse journals. Please view this tutorial for guidance in searching within JSTOR.
  • Master File Premier (EBSCO)
    "Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost." (from website)
  • Periodicals Index Online
    Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Biographical Entries

  • American National Biography
    "...offers portraits of more than 18,700 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation. The American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years"-American National Biography website.
  • Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-2005 REF JK1010 .A525 2005
  • Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Gale)
    Contains references to biographical content in other resources.  NO BIOGRAPHIES ACTUALLY CONTAINED WITHIN THIS DATABASE.  Covers a suprising breadth of access to lesser known people.
  • Gale Biography in Context
    Searchable database, providing access to actual biographical content, more limited in scope than Biography & Genealogy Index.

Historiographies

Historiographies can be found in both book/monograph and article form. 

  1. IUCAT or WorldCat search.  Go to Advanced Search and in the Subject field type in historiography.  Add the appropriate keywords for your topic and click search.  Example:                                                                  
  2. Within an article indexing database such as America History and Life or Master File Premier, simply include historiography in your keyword search.  Ex: immigration and united states and historiography
Finding Primary Resources

Reprinted Primary Resources

Digital Versions of Primary Resources

  • AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History
    A section of the WWW Virtual Library. A chronological listing of primary documents and maps related to American History.
  • American Memory Project-Library of Congress
    Housing more than 7 million digitized items, this collection contains items relating to U.S. history, people, politics, and culture. Items include photographs, maps, illustrations, manuscripts, diaries, sheet music, motion pictures, and sound recordings.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (ProQuest) 
    Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
  • Amistad Digital Archive (Columbia University)
    While the educational guides on the site are geared towards a middle and high school audience the primary resources, including: photographs, audio, video, and documents, are of use to all research levels.
  • Black Thought & Culture (Alexander Street Press) When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
    "This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)" - Chronicling America Homepage.
  • Discovering American Women's History: A Research Guide
    Women's history research guide page from Middle Tennessee State University. Features digital collections of primary sources, as well as tools for finding primary resources.
  • Documenting the American South
    "Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (from website)
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
    "Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this database lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to images of the books themselves." -University of Virginia Libraries
  • Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
    "This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways." (from website)
  • The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006  (Gale)
    The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006 ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is an unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries. 
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online  (Gale)
    Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
  • Historical New York Times  Searchable online database which houses a digitized version of New York Times back to mid 1800's.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
    "Contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Users will be able to graph individual tables or to combine data from different tables into "custom tables" and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications."--Cambridge University Press website
  • Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
  • In the First Person An index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives.
  • Indiana History Online (via Gale)
    Indiana History Online is an online resource comprised of a total of 351 works. Among these tens of thousands of pages readers will find not only the more general historical facts on the people, events, and places that made Indiana the state it is today, but also the detailed, lesser-known aspects of the Hoosier state. Many of the documents here are not readily available anywhere else, and whether student or scholar, the database has user-friendly search features that simplify your research. (from website)
  • IUPUI University Library Digital Collections
    Primarly focusing on Indianapolis history but spanning to all of Indiana the collections include early Indianapolis maps, the full run of The Indianapolis Recorder, early issues of Indianapolis newspapers, images from Indianapolis neighborhoods, civil war telegraph books, German Americana, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and more.
  • Making of America by University of Michigan and Cornell University
    A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. These collections are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
  • New York Public Library Digital Library Collection
    Gateway to the New York Public Library's (NYPL) "rare and unique" (from the website) online digital collections. Includes searchable databases, online exhibitions, and digital texts.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
    "Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines." (from website)
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries
    "Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before." (from website)
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
  • Time Magazine Archive
    A selection of Time Magazine full-text articles from 1923-present. Considered a popular resource, not a scholarly resource.
  • Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
    Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)
    Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa. Future parts are Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. Once completed, it will include over 5 million pages.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press) This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
  • Women' Working, 1800-1930
    "Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images"-collection's website.

 Finding Freely Availble Digital Collections 

Some of the collections of primary resources listed above are freely available resources, digitized and placed online for scholarly use by cultural institutions such as libraries, museums, and historical societies.  Many other collections of this nature exist and can be located through a simple Google search.  Search strategies for locating possible collections: 1) Try a simple keyword search (Ex. Indianapolis Sanborn maps) 2) Try searching for the museums and libraries geographically or topically related to your research project. (Ex. Indiana Historical Society)

A word of caution, If you are searching the open web for primary sources make sure you carefully evaluate the source and site.  Don’t just assume the digitized document is a quality resource.  Follow this link to a guide for determining quality and for proper citation of such sources http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/RUSA/

Contact Me Course specific guide for Dr. Wokeck's J495 course on American Immigration McKee A421 Terrorism Defined

terrorismn.

OED Online. December 2014. Oxford University Press. 

1. Government by intimidation as directed and carried out by the party in power in France during the Revolution of 1789–94; the system of the ‘Terror’ (1793–4): see terror n. 3. Now hist.

2. a.  gen. The unofficial or unauthorized use of violence and intimidation in the pursuit of political aims; (originally) such practices used by a government or ruling group (freq. through paramilitary or informal armed groups) in order to maintain its control over a population; (now usually) such practices used by a clandestine or expatriate organization as a means of furthering its aims. Cf. terrorist n. 1b.

b. In extended or weakened use: the instilling of fear or terror; intimidation, coercion, bullying.

Compounds: General attrib., as  terrorism case,  terrorism expertterrorism insurance,  terrorism suspect, etc.

Selecting a Topic
  • OneSearch:  This is a tool that allows you to simultaneously search many of the secondary and primary resources mentioned below including but certainly not limited to America History and Life, IUCAT, JSTOR, and Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.  I prefer to use this source as a means to determine whether or not there is enough information out there on a given topic.  Researchers newly acquainted with the research and writing process (such as research conducted in 100 and 200 level courses) will likely find MetaSearch adequate for finding the research they need to write a paper.  Researchers doing more intense research with legthier papers or more complex thesis will have better results searching some databases individually rather than via MetaSearch.
  • Encyclopedia of Terrorism, 2013
    • Print: Call #:  HV6431 .E534 2013 v.1-2 STACKS
    • Online

 

 

 

Finding Secondary Sources

Books

 

Articles & More

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    "Academic Search Elite offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost." (from website)
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    An index with abstracts, may lead to full-text, All scholarly. Advanced search easily allows one to limit by time period, browse subject headings, and select the language of the article. American history only.
  • Catalog of US Government Publications Index of documents published by the Federal Government.  Some items include link to full text.  Indiana State Library has all other documents.  Simply take a print out of the record to the State Library for access.
  • Homeland Security Digital Archive Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
  • J-STOR
    All full-text and scholarly articles. Presents the back-files or the complete run of important journals up to a relatively recent embargo date. No controlled vocabulary or subject headings used. May limit keyword search to abstract, title, full-text. This database is complemented well by the ProjectMuse journals. Please view this tutorial for guidance in searching within JSTOR.
  • Master File Premier (EBSCO)
    "Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost." (from website)
  • Military and Government Collection (EBSCO) Indexing and significant amount of full text articles related to military and government topics.
  • PAIS International Covers Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations.

 

Finding Primary Resources

Reprinted Primary Resources

Digital Versions of Primary Resrouces

  • 9/11 Archive not a particularly large archive but includes images, audio, and text from and regarding the event and aftermath.
  • American History in Video includes newsreels and documentaries of imporant events in US history
  • American Memory Project-Library of Congress
    Housing more than 7 million digitized items, this collection contains items relating to U.S. history, people, politics, and culture. Items include photographs, maps, illustrations, manuscripts, diaries, sheet music, motion pictures, and sound recordings.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (ProQuest) 
    Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
  • Black Thought & Culture (Alexander Street Press) When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
    "This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)" - Chronicling America Homepage.
  • Digital National Security Database "contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 44 collections consisting of over 104,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 733,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time." (website)
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
    "Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this database lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to images of the books themselves." -University of Virginia Libraries
  • Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
    "This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways." (from website)
  • Historical New York Times  Searchable online database which houses a digitized version of New York Times back to mid 1800's.
  • Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
  • Making of America by University of Michigan and Cornell University
    A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. These collections are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
  • Time Magazine Archive
    A selection of Time Magazine full-text articles from 1923-present. Considered a popular resource, not a scholarly resource.
  • Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
    Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (Alexander Street Press)  The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 38,000 pages.
  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)
    Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa. Future parts are Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. Once completed, it will include over 5 million pages.
  • StoryCorps Library of Congress collection of oral histories from across the United States.  Search 9/11 for relevent stories.  Try other topics too.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press) This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. 
  • YouTube Search for video of news coverage of particular terrorism related topics

Finding Freely Availble Digital Collections via the Open Web

Some of the collections of primary resources listed above are freely available resources, digitized and placed online for scholarly use by cultural institutions such as libraries, museums, and historical societies.  Many other collections of this nature exist and can be located through a simple Google search.  Search strategies for locating possible collections: 1) Try a simple keyword search (Ex. Indianapolis Sanborn maps) 2) Try searching for the museums and libraries geographically or topically related to your research project. (Ex. Indiana Historical Society)

A word of caution, If you are searching the open web for primary sources make sure you carefully evaluate the source and site.  Don’t just assume the digitized document is a quality resource.  Follow this link to a guide for determining quality and for proper citation of such sources http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/RUSA/

Citing Sources and Evaluating Websites

Citation Guide

A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers by Kate Turabian., 7th edition Reference section, 2nd Floor of University Library, Call #: LB2369 .T8 2007

Quick Turabian Guide from University of Wisconsin, Madison

Evaluating Websites

If your instructor has indicated that open web resources (general websites, blogs, etc.) are allowable sources for your research its important that you evaluate these sources carefully. CRAAP Test

Contact Me Course Specific
Guide ID: 
260315
URL: 
//iupui.campusguides.com/history
Updated Aug 14, 2018 by Webmaster