IDeA Home

Digital Archive Overview

IUPUI Implementation

News & Related Sites

People

IDeA Communities & Collection Policies

The IUPUI IDeA repository is a partnership between IUPUI communities, IUPUI libraries and IUPUI administration. IDeA content consists of collections produced by IUPUI communities, which are managed, preserved and distributed by IUPUI libraries through IDeA. Some of the collections will be subject to institutional guidelines defined by IUPUI administration. As in all partnerships, it is important that all IDeA stakeholders understand and agree to the policies, guidelines and procedures required to build an IDeA repository.

What is an IDeA community?

An IDeA "Community" is an entity with an IUPUI association that conducts scholarly activity, has a defined leader, has long-term stability, and can assume responsibility for setting Community policies. Each community must be able to assign a coordinator who can work with IDeA staff. Groups wishing to establish an IDeA Community that do not fall into this definition will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Individuals may not submit items without belonging to an established community in IDeA.

What responsibilities does an IDeA Community take on?

An IDeA community agrees to:

  • arrange for submission and description of content
  • make decisions about community and collection definitions (within IDeA guidelines and Content Policies)
  • notify IDeA of organizational changes affecting submissions
  • reply to requests for reconfirmation of community information
  • understand and observe IUPUI policies relevant to IDeA, and educate community submitters regarding these policies
  • decide upon a submission workflow for each collection

What rights does an IDeA Community retain?

An IDeA community retains the right to:

  • decide policy regarding content to be submitted (within IDeA guidelines and Content Policies)
  • decide who may submit content within the community
  • receive a copy of submitted content upon request
  • remove items and collections (as outlined in the Withdrawal Policy.)
  • approve addition of or elimination of sub-communities
  • customize interfaces to community content

What are IUPUI libraries' responsibilities?

IDeA agrees to:

  • retain and maintain content submitted to IDeA
  • distribute content according to community decisions (to IUPUI minimally, unless prior approval is granted by IDeA Working Group)
  • preserve content using accepted preservation techniques
  • provide access to IDeA research
  • notify communities of significant changes to content, e.g. format migration
  • if IUPUI libraries cease to support IDeA: (1) return collections to existing communities and (2) offer collections to IUPUI Archives.
  • consult with communities on content guidelines

What are IUPUI libraries' rights?

IDeA retains the right to:

  • redistribute, sell or amend metadata for items in IDeA
  • refuse or de-accession items or Collections under certain circumstances - as outlined in the Withdrawal Policy.
  • renegotiate terms of original agreement with Communities
  • determine long-term archival value when Communities cease to exist or within thirty years of the creation of a Collection
  • structure Collections to reflect current understanding between IDeA and Communities
  • migrate items if format is in danger of obsolescence
  • set quotas (size of files, number of items) to determine what constitutes free service and after which point to charge a fee.
  • Charge fee for activities requiring extensive centralized support from IDeA (e.g. large amount of de-accessioning)

What are IUPUI's rights?

IUPUI has the right to:

  • Set policy at the IUPUI level regarding issues that affect IDeA, e.g. copyright rules, thesis requirements, etc.

Withdrawal Policy

IUPUI libraries foresee times when it may be necessary to remove items from the repository. It has been decided that under some circumstances items will be removed from view, but to avoid loss of the historical record, all such transactions will be traced in the form of a note in the field of the Dublin Core record. The content of the note should be one of the following:

  • "removed from view at request of the author"
  • "removed from view at IUPUI's discretion"
  • "removed from view at IUPUI libraries' discretion"
  • "removed from view by legal order"

Since any IDeA item that has existed at some time may have been cited, we will always supply a "tombstone" when the item is requested, which will include the original metadata (for verification) plus one of the above withdrawal statements in place of the link to the object. The metadata should be visible, but not searchable. These items will also be made unavailable for metadata harvesting.

This page last modified on 5 June 2007, bpd
Copyright © 2002-2005 The Trustees of Indiana University - Copyright Complaints