Article Databases
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and Password for off-campus access.
Can't Connect?
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | 1 | 2 |
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | 1 | 2 |
-
AgeLine provides bibliographic references and original abstracts for materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues. Documents on health care and policy comprise about half the database. Document types include: journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and government documents. Journal coverage includes research, professional and general interest titles.
-
ABI/INFORM Suite includes three distinct databases:
ABI/INFORM Dateline - Local and regional coverage of company, industry and business news; excellent source of information about private and small public companies not typically found in the national business press.
ABI/INFORM Global - Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on business topics: advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, management; also company and industry information.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Contains more than 700 trade publications covering every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and health.Subject Areas --> Tourism Management ; Nursing ; Business : Management ; Business : Accounting and Finance ; Business ;
-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.Subject Areas --> Nursing ;
-
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.Subject Areas --> Tourism Management ; Social Work ; Science, General ; Physical Education ; Military Science ; Law ; General Interest ; Engineering & Technology ; Computer Science ; Communication ; Business ;
-
Need help using Academic Search Premier? Try a tutorial: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.Subject Areas --> Social Work ; Physical Education ; Military Science ; Languages & Literature : English ; Languages & Literature ; General Interest ; Environmental Science ; Engineering & Technology ; Communication ;
-
Accounting Research Manager is a financial reporting database covering accounting, auditing, government, and SEC information. It also provides access to literature and data covering FASB, AICPA, SEC, EITF, IASB, PCAOB, IIA, COSO, GASB, GAO, and OMB content.Subject Areas --> Business : Accounting and Finance ;
-
AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. For search help, view the tutorial.
-
The ACLS History E-Book Project is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians.Subject Areas --> History ;
-
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
-
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.Subject Areas --> Religion ;
-
The Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900, includes the poems of such well-known figures as Paul Laurence Dunbar and Phillis Wheatley and the verse of many lesser-known poets whose works may only be found in anthologies or private libraries. Most of the poets in the database were not acknowledged during their lifetimes, but only granted recognition posthumously.
Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a rich variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.
The bibliographic source for the Database of African-American Poetry is the invaluable Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975, by W. P. French et al. -
Subject Areas --> African American Studies ;
-
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series has published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing.
Release Three of this electronic edition includes 147 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih. -
Access is available only within the library on library owned Windows computers.Subject Areas --> African American Studies ;
-
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
-
AMADEUS is a comprehensive, pan-European database containing financial information on 7 million public and private companies in 38 European countries. It combines data from over 35 information providers (IPs). AMADEUS is a modular product; you can choose the level of coverage that you require - the top 250,000 companies, the top 1.5 million or all companies.
-
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
Only the free resources available through this site are accessible.
At present the project consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Recently added: a Provençal database that includes 38 texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature : French ;
-
The ACS Publications Division strives to provide its members and the worldwide scientific community a comprehensive collection, in any medium, of high-quality information products and services that advance the practice of the chemical and related sciences. Currently, over 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines are published or co-published by the Publications Division. Approximately 140,000 pages of research material are published annually both in print and on the Web, along with another 90,000 pages of additional Supporting Information available on the Web.Subject Areas --> Chemistry ;
-
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.
-
AFI Catalog is the premier resource for American films produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute (AFI). The AFI Catalog is meticulously compiled and updated by film experts at the AFI.Subject Areas --> Film ;
-
American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) is an ongoing project to digitize and thoroughly index 1,000 film scripts. The rationale behind this is not only to provide access to many previously unpublished screenplays, it is to allow scripts to become part of the established corpus of literary works.
The primary focus of the database is the written work, rather than the film itself. It allows users to see and understand the structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes. It lets scholars see, for example, how derivative scripts are developed. (There are three versions of A Star is Born and two versions of Little Women.)
Each script has been painstakingly licensed from the appropriate rights holders, so providing an authoritative source for these materials.Subject Areas --> Film ;
-
Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci-tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996. Scitation's science and engineering coverage includes:
- conference proceedings
- virtual journals
- magazines
- standards
- almost 600,000 journal articles
-
The AMS is devoted to publishing research mathematics of high quality and significance in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. An important goal is to make this research available to the mathematics community as quickly as sound editorial procedures and the medium of publication allow. For journals that appear in dual electronic and print formats, articles are posted individually on the Web soon after proof is returned from authors and before appearing in issues for the print product. The AMS also publishes refereed electronic-only journals that receive the same timely posting that dual-format journals receive. Items in article bibliographies are linked to their reviews on MathSciNet when available.Subject Areas --> Mathematics ;
-
Gives access to the full texts of articles featured in journals published by the American Physical Society.
-
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature ;
-
The American Poetry Full-Text Database features the works of more than 200 American poets, along with six landmark anthologies of American poetry. The database gathers the works of the most influential American poets, from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century.Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature ;
-
Dr. Bohdan S. Wynar, the founder of Libraries Unlimited, compiled the first volume of American Reference Books Annual (ARBA) in 1970 to provide librarians with a reliable tool to select the best reference materials for their collections and inform them of the most current resources available. Over the years, ARBA has evolved with the ever-changing library profession by providing reviews of electronic products and serving as a source of information on professional products for librarians and information specialists. ARBA is noted for providing reviews written by librarians for librarians.
The web version includes the data from Volume 28 (1997) - present. New reviews of reference works are published monthly in ARBAonline, and the reviews published from February through January in ARBAonline are published in the print edition.Subject Areas --> Library & Information Science ;
-
Gives access to the full texts of articles featured in journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
-
Subject Areas --> American Studies ;
-
L'Année philologique contains 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records added each year. Its international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract and all the records are classified in a two-parts system: Ancient authors and texts, Subjects and disciplines.
-
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
-
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fieldsSubject Areas --> Anthropology ;
-
Subject Areas --> Anthropology ;
-
AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource.
Its powerful search engine makes precision research quick and easy.
AnthroSource is more than a content collection. It is an evolving, interactive repository of research and communications tools designed to bring the most credible and relevant of anthropological scholarship together in one place and to support a strong community of scholars, teachers, and students in the field.Subject Areas --> Anthropology ;
-
The APA Style Guide to Electronic References provides details and examples on properly formatting electronic references.
-
Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.Subject Areas --> Science, General ; Physics ; Music ; Informatics ; Geology and Earth Sciences ; Engineering & Technology ; Biology ;
-
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
-
Subject Areas --> Art ;
-
An invaluable, in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
A unique resource, Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artist interviews and other commentary, and much more. -
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts. -
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature : English ;
-
ACCESSIBLE ONLY IN UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. Provides citation searching in the fields of art, literature, history.Subject Areas --> General Interest ;
-
ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The Charter Collection provides students, faculty, curators, and staff with access to a large and expanding resource of digital images and data for teaching and research in art history, as well as - more broadly - in the humanities and other disciplines.
-
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and it is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
-
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.Subject Areas --> Engineering & Technology ;
