Databases by Subject : History
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?
-
-
The ACLS History E-Book Project is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.
-
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
-
Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.
-
Provides citations for biographical information on over 4 million people, from the beginning of time through present day.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. James Vernon Hatch, the playwright, historian, and curator of the landmark Hatch-Billops Collection of black drama, is the project's editorial advisor. More than a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of nearly 500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
The British Newspapers 1600-1900 is the most significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. New conservation and imaging techniques and a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library offers unparalleled access and discoverability to this valuable historical and cultural archive. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.
-
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press's collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 offers fully word-searchable original British Foreign Office documents from the National Archives of the UK, representing the majority of Britain's information flow from occupied territories in Europe, and from Germany itself after the cessation of normal peacetime diplomatic channels. Resistance, economic and social conditions and intelligence operations are all reported through telegrams, letters, coded messages and reports, and this documentary material is contextualised by a Chronology of World War II, cine film footage from the Imperial War Museum London and newly commissioned essays on life under German occupation in France by Prof. Rod Kedward, the Low Countries by Dr Dirk Martin and Norway by Dr Chris Mann. File selection and Introduction by Michael Stenton.
-
Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
University Library's collection currently contains:- African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
- Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
- Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
- Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
Need Help? Try this tutorial -
Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Flash)
-
Deep backfile for The New York Times (1851-2005) with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2005).Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Users will be able to graph individual tables or to combine data from different tables into "custom tables" and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Database of full-text online history journals covering more recent articles (typically the last 10 years). Includes many repeats of journals found in JSTOR but does include some unique journals.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
The History Resource Center: U.S.provides integrated access to more than 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more than 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for more than 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Need help with History Resource Center: World? Try a tutorial:
Guided tour
History Resource Center: World is a comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronlogic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals. -
Humanities Abstracts Full Text contains abstracting and indexing coverage for all 500 periodicals included in Humanities Index as well as the full text of over 160 periodicals, offering instant access to information from publications such as: American Journalism Review; American Poetry Review; Art Journal; Asian Folklore Studies; Canadian Journal of History; Central European History; Contemporary Review; Dance Magazine; Film Criticism; Journal of Popular Culture; Opera News; Perspectives of New Music; Scandinavian Studies; World Literature Today. Subjects: Archeology; Art; Communications; Drama; Film; Folklore; History; Humanities; Language; Literature; Music; Philosophy; Photography; Religion.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Humanities International Index™ is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles and contains more than 1.6 million records. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.
-
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2005).Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
-
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
-
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Our goal is to include more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, providing a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
56,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.
-
Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. General Editor: Professor Dan Stone, Royal Holloway College, University of London.
-
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web. -
The Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeolgie (RAA) database includes abstracts and indexes on all aspects of European and American art and architecture. European art is covered from late Antiquity (4th c.) to 1939. American art is covered from the European discoveries (16th c.) to 1939. Art reflecting the Western tradition in other parts of the world is also included. All types of publication are covered: books, periodical articles, reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, collected essays, exhibition catalogues, museum publications, and, doctoral dissertations.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
-
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 38,000 pages.
-
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online.
By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward. -
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.Need Help? Try this tutorial
