CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Guides & Tutorials

Business Resources: Databases

ABI/INFORM Suite includes three distinct databases:

  • ABI/INFORM Dateline - Local and regional coverage of company, industry and business news; excellent source of information about private and small public companies not typically found in the national business press.
  • ABI/INFORM Global - Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on business topics: advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, management; also company and industry information.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Contains more than 700 trade publications covering every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and health.

Amadeus - Detailed information on 200,000 public and private companies in 34 European countries: national identification number, address, telephone, website, legal form, year of incorporation, officers, number of employees, industry codes, and more.

Bloomberg (available on one dedicated terminal, in-library use only) - A leading provider of global economic and financial information; includes news and data for all aspects of the market including equities, futures and options, fixed-income, bond sales and analytics, foreign exchange, and government securities.

BNA Tax Management Library Portfolios - Analysis and guidance from the world’s leading tax authorities, covers a comprehensive range of tax topics, and offers tax planning and compliance insights and strategies.

Business & Company Resource Center - Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, industry information, chronologies, and full-text periodicals make up this multi-purpose resource center.

Business Insights Interactive - Provides an objective source of data analysis and market insight and is a source for a variety of business information needs focusing on consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology, eCommerce, and human resources.

Business Source Premier - Provides full text for almost 3000 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 900 peer-reviewed business publications; coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.

CCH Internet Tax Research NetWork - Tax legislation, codes, cases, and research publications, includes daily tax highlights and briefings.  Limited to 35 users at a time.

Corporate ResourceNet - Full text articles from nearly 1,300 business magazines and journals ranging from general publications to trade publications and top management journals.

CQ Researcher - Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Datastream (available on one dedicated terminal, in-library use only) - Powerful database of economic, company, and finance data which may be accessed in overview, chart, graph or spreadsheet format.

DemographicsNow create custom reports; perform quick and accurate market analysis; create fully interactive maps; create radius based maps and reports; create summary and comparison reports for any U.S. geography; get full access to current year estimates and five year projections; get complete access to 1980, 1990 and 2000 Census data as well as AGS current year estimates and 5 year projections.

Econlit - Bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature; of interest to researchers, product managers, advertisers, and public policy professionals.

EIU.com - The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides a constant flow of analysis and forecasts for global business: regional business briefings, country profiles, and reports on commerce and finance regulations around the world.

Factiva - Business information from nearly 8,000 newswires, newspapers, magazines, and journals plus company and industry profiles; features browsable full-text interface of several top business magazines ad newspapers.  Limited to 4 users at a time.

Health Business FullTEXT - Full-text coverage for nearly 130 well-known journals; critical for hospital administrators and managers; includes publications covering the business of health care administration.

InfoTrac OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics in business, law, humanities, science, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.

Investext Plus - A premier financial research database of investment reports on companies and industries from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East; all reports are provided in PDF image.  Limited to 5 users at a time.

LexisNexis Academic (Restricted to authorized IUPUI users within the US) - The "Business" segment includes a public and private company directory; company financial data; business, company and industry news; full-text from hundreds of sources.

Market Indicators and Forecasts - A powerful and comprehensive database of industries, demographics, consumption, average wages, income levels, market size, infrastructure and the business environment data on 60 key countries worldwide. Contains over 500 series stretching back to 1990 and forward five years.

Market Research Monitor - Market research reports spanning all consumer sectors analyzed by country, region, or global market; in-depth industry reports for hundreds of industries in Australia, China, France, Germany, Japan, South Korea, United Kingdom and U.S. in a comprehensive standardized format.

MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) - Reports draw on extensive primary and secondary research. Company Profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news and commentary. Industry Profiles provide key industrial and consumer sectors across the world's leading economies. Country Profiles give you quick access to country data points, trends and analysis.

Mediamark Plus - Published by the leading provider of magazine audience data to the advertising and marketing communities, this library of key magazine planning data resources provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from a national probability sample of 27,000 households.

Mergent Online - Search the database by company name or ticker symbol for comprehensive information on large public US and international companies: SEC filings, balance sheets, income statements, annual reports, company histories, broker research reports, business news; includes archives of defunct companies. Advanced search allows the user to build a company list for comparative analysis.

Million Dollar Database - Information on approximately 1,600,000 leading U.S. and Canadian public and private companies; company profiles include industry classification, number of employees, annual sales, type of ownership, principal executives and links to Web sites and financial reports when available.  Limited to 1 user at a time.

Mintel Reports - Research reports covering several industry sectors in U.S and European markets combine primary data and analysis of competition, market-share, demographics, consumer behavior and consumer profiles.

Library Workstations Only National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) (via STAT-USA) - A service of the U.S. Department of Commerce providing authoritative information for the U.S. business, economic and trade community.

Newsletters ASAP - Access to information from specialized business, industry and technology newsletters issued by a variety of news services and industry watchers.

Plunkett Research Online - Provides overview, outlook, statistics, market research and trends for several industry sectors; industry-related associations, organizations, and government agencies; profiles of major companies doing business in each industry.

RDS Business Reference Suite (BizSuite) - Three databases make up the Suite: Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase; the Business Suite includes periodical articles on marketing and management topics, trade and business news, plus company facts and figures.  Limited to 4 users at a time.

Regional Business News - Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

RIA's Checkpoint - A tax and accounting research tool providing essential resources for researchers; information is anchored by established and respected products from RIA and WG&L.

S&P Industry Surveys ( NetAdvantage) - Offers a comprehensive overview of more than 50 of the largest North American and global industries; each survey is authored by the Standard & Poor's equity research analyst who specializes in analyzing companies within that industry.

Library Workstations Only SDC Platinum (Windows only; see University Library Reference Desk for access) - Financial databases on mergers and acquisitions, corporate restructuring, global new issues, corporate governance, municipal databases, and healthcare industry.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage - Offers access to Standard & Poor's premium content such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports and Fund Reports; timely features and commentary on topics such as the economy, daily stock market activity, industry sectors, stocks, bonds, funds, and investment strategies.

Statistical Universe - Access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Library Workstations Only STAT-USA/Internet - The site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government (U.S. Department of Commerce).

Vault Online Career Library - Comprehensive career information database that includes career guides, occupational profiles, industry overviews, company snapshots, and detailed employment surveys.

World Marketing Forecasts - Market forecasts (for up to 10 years) for more than 350 consumer products in Europe and Asia; data is fully comparable across 52 countries; select from a wide range of socio-economic and population parameters to include; comparisons may be made product-to-product and country-to-country.

Last updated by jtrinosk on 09/12/2008