Databases by Subject : Biology
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.
-
AccessMedicine
Collection of over 60 medical and human biology texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students. Also included are an image gallery, drug database (Clinical Pharmacology Online), patient education information, and a link to appendices with normal laboratory values. A complete list of e-books can be found here.
-
American Physical Society Publications Online
Gives access to the full texts of articles featured in journals published by the American Physical Society.
-
Annual Reviews
Provides the full-text of authoritative literature reviews covering a variety of social science and science disciplines. It includes both broad and deep coverage of the life, health, and medical sciences. Can be searched by individual title, subject series, or across the entire collection.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
- Biology Research Guide
-
BioMed Central
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. All research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
Biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
-
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS)
ELS is a resource for students, instructors, and researchers in the life sciences.
-
Faculty of 1000 Biology (BioMed Central)
Faculty of 1000:
- Provides scientists with a continuously updated insider's guide to the most important papers within any given field of research
- Highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear
- Offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists
- Systematically organizes and evaluates the mass of information within scientific literature
- Offers an immediate rating of individual papers by the authors' peers, and an important complement to the indirect assessment provided by the journal impact factor.
Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Powerpoint)
-
General Science Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexing and abstracting of material of at least one column in length in key popular science magazines and professional journals, including The New York Times Science Times section; useful for both the nonspecialist and the expert.
General Science Abstracts provides easy access to a broad range of scientific and related disciplines. The database supplies comprehensive abstracting and indexing over 190 popular and professional science journals published in the United States and Great Britain. -
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/
Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)
Search the definitive database of pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.
-
Scitation
Scitation provides online journal articles relevant to engineering, biophysics, chemical biology, bioinformatics, and computing.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
