- Find Articles & More
- Find Books & More
- Guides to Research
- Information Literacy
- Digital Scholarship
- Patron Services
- Room Reservations
- Interlibrary Loan
- Faculty Support
- Also in the Library
- About Us
- Library Hours
- Library Policies
- Need Help?
Databases by Subject : Geography
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
This is an authoritative geographic encyclopedia. Compiled by an editorial board of 150 leading scholars from all parts of the world, the Gazetteer includes coverage on: demography, physical geography, and political boundaries; industry, trade, and agriculture; cultural, historical, and archaeological points of interest; transportation lines, longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; official government place-names and changed or variant names and spelling. The Gazetteer encompasses a wide range of uses, from a quick reference tool to in-depth research resource.
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) (ProQuest)
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
GEOGRAPHY, from Elsevier Science Ltd., is the only comprehensive database containing both bibliographic references and extensive abstracts to information in the field of geography. GEOGRAPHY provides international coverage of 2,000 primary journals, books, monographs, reports and theses. Topics covered include physical and human geography and international development issues.
- Geography Research Guide
GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and grows by more than 70,000 references a year. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/
Need Help? Try this tutorial
National Geographic Virtual Library
National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. NGVL brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research. Allows full access to the magazine’s archive (1888-1994).