CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : Languages & Literature : English

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Need help using Academic Search Premier? Try a tutorial: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.
  • The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
  • Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
  • From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
  • Humanities Abstracts Full Text contains abstracting and indexing coverage for all 500 periodicals included in Humanities Index as well as the full text of over 160 periodicals, offering instant access to information from publications such as: American Journalism Review; American Poetry Review; Art Journal; Asian Folklore Studies; Canadian Journal of History; Central European History; Contemporary Review; Dance Magazine; Film Criticism; Journal of Popular Culture; Opera News; Perspectives of New Music; Scandinavian Studies; World Literature Today. Subjects: Archeology; Art; Communications; Drama; Film; Folklore; History; Humanities; Language; Literature; Music; Philosophy; Photography; Religion.
  • Humanities International Index™ is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles and contains more than 1.6 million records. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
  • The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
  • Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.
  • Compiled by Salem Press, this database is the definitive, online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses. This database also includes brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature. MagillOnLiterature contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill's Literary Annual, Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy as well as World Philosophers and Their Works.
  • Provides citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
  • Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.