Databases by Subject : Library & Information Science

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Connection Trouble?

  • Dr. Bohdan S. Wynar, the founder of Libraries Unlimited, compiled the first volume of American Reference Books Annual (ARBA) in 1970 to provide librarians with a reliable tool to select the best reference materials for their collections and inform them of the most current resources available. Over the years, ARBA has evolved with the ever-changing library profession by providing reviews of electronic products and serving as a source of information on professional products for librarians and information specialists. ARBA is noted for providing reviews written by librarians for librarians.

    The web version includes the data from Volume 28 (1997) - present. New reviews of reference works are published monthly in ARBAonline, and the reviews published from February through January in ARBAonline are published in the print edition.
  • Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.
  • Children's Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.
    Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction, story collections, and picture books are designated Fic, S C, and E.
  • Global Books In Print is the industry's leading international bibliographic database offering more than 8 million English-language titles from the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. PLUS access to annotations, tables of contents, cover images, awards and full-text reviews. WITH market filter to focus searches on specific countries with over 40 search criteria and inventory availability from over 20 top vendors in the U.S., Canada, U.K., and Australia. AND a complete Publisher Authority Database, Enhanced Hooks to Holdings and Links to OCLC WorldCat to search local and worldwide library catalogs. All of these features are available through the globalbooksinprint.com native interface. Searching through MetaLib will produce bibliographic elements and access to annotations, awards and the complete Publisher Authority Database.
  • Journal Citation Reports is published annually in two editions. Only the editions and years that your institution subscribes to appear on the home page.

    JCR Science Edition contains data from over 5,900 journals in science and technology.

    JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 1,700 journals in the social sciences.
  • Library Literature and Information Science Full Text covers the full text of over 91 journals from 1998 to present. The database indexes 200 key library and informationscience periodicals as well as 600 individual books a year published in the United States and elsewhere. Included in the database are conference proceedings, selected state journals, and library school theses with topics covering censorship, public relations, preservation, copyright legislation, automation, cataloging, and classification. A favorite with librarians, this unique file comprises both English and foreign periodicals.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
  • LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.

    LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
    Major areas of coverage include:
    Artificial intelligence; Book reviews; CD-ROMs;
    Computer applications; Information centres; Information technology, storage and management;
    Internet technology; Knowledge management;
    Librarianship; Libraries and archives; Library management, use and users; Medical information;
    Online information retrieval; Publishing and bookselling; Records management; Telecommunications and the Web.
  • This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
  • Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades five through nine, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction and story collections are designated Fic and S C.
  • Middle Search Plus, designed specifically for middle school libraries, contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
  • Primary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.
  • Fiction Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction for adults that includes both established and contemporary works either written in or translated into English. Out-of-print titles are included, and analytical entries are made for composite works. The catalog is intended for collection development and for readers' guidance and reference service in public and undergraduate libraries.
  • Public Library Catalog is a selective annotated list of nonfiction and reference works with analytical entries for anthologies, collections, and parts of books. Works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

    Subjects Covered
    Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel
  • Senior High School Library Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction and story collections are designated Fic and S C.
  • Short Story Index Electronic Edition is the electronic version of the standard reference work Short Story Index. It is an index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.
  • The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.