CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Medicine

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • STAT!REF

    Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  IUPUI access includes the following:

    • AAFP Conditions A to Z (2013)
    • Best Practices in Infection Prevention and Control (2nd Ed : 2012)
    • International Perspective (2nd Ed. : 2012)
    • Introductions to Epidemiology (5th Ed. : 2010)
    • MedCalc 3000: Complete Edition
    • Oxford Textbook of Public Health (5th Ed. : 2009)
    • Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (28th Ed. : 2006)

  • AccessMedicine

    Collection of over 60 medical and human biology texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students. Also included are an image gallery, drug database (Clinical Pharmacology Online), patient education information, and a link to appendices with normal laboratory values. A complete list of e-books can be found here.

  • ACP Journal Club

    ACP Journal Club includes studies which ACP's editors have selected as methodologically sound and clinically relevant. The editors screen the top clinical journals for articles, and write enhanced abstracts and commentary on the study's value, helping clinicians to quickly understand and apply to their practice important changes in medical knowledge, without having to read and synthesize thousands of journal articles.

  • Annual Reviews

    Provides the full-text of authoritative literature reviews covering a variety of social science and science disciplines. It includes both broad and deep coverage of the life, health, and medical sciences. Can be searched by individual title, subject series, or across the entire collection.

  • BioMed Central

    BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. All research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • BIOSIS Previews (1969-Present)

    A database in the Web of Knowledge, BIOSIS Previews includes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

  • Books@Ovid

    Books@Ovid includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)

    Vocational information for both students and instructors in community colleges, two-year institutions, public libraries, and high schools offering technical courses. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) - Evidence Based Practice searching

    CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This version automatically maps keywords to official subject headings. It also offers basic keyword searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) - General searching

    CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.

  • ClinicalKey

    Experience the world's first Clinical Insight Engine. ClinicalKey is the next generation, online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers..

  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - CCRT

    CCTR (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register) is part of Wiley's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. It is a joint production of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) in Washington, DC (USA) who produces MEDLINE and Reed Elsevier of Amsterdam (the Netherlands) who produce EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - COCH

    Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) is part of Wiley's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. It contains two types of reviews: “Protocols” and “Cochrane Methodology Reviews”. Cochrane Methodology Reviews are full-text reports that are both highly structured and systematic. Evidence from methodological research is included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, thus minimizing bias. Data from studies are often combined statistically to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, which on their own may be too small to produce reliable results. In such cases, the review may also include graphs presenting the data from each individual study. Protocols have no full-text. They are place-holders for reviews, which are still being written. They summarize the background and the rationale of the review.

  • Cochrane library

    The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

  • Cochrane Methodology Register - CMR

    Cochrane Methodology Register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies that could be relevant for inclusion in a Cochrane methodology review, along with comparative and descriptive studies relevant to the conduct of systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. It includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research.

  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)

    DARE is a Full Text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by the expert reviewers and information staff of the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.

  • EMBASE

    EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts. EMBASE is indexed using the Elsevier life science thesaurus, EMTREE. The database also included Medline records that are mapped to the EMBASE thesaurus.

  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS)

    ELS is a resource for students, instructors, and researchers in the life sciences.

  • Faculty of 1000 Biology (BioMed Central)

    Faculty of 1000:

    • Provides scientists with a continuously updated insider's guide to the most important papers within any given field of research
    • Highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear
    • Offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists
    • Systematically organizes and evaluates the mass of information within scientific literature
    • Offers an immediate rating of individual papers by the authors' peers, and an important complement to the indirect assessment provided by the journal impact factor.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Powerpoint)

  • Global Health (Ovid) - through Medical School

    Global Health focuses on public health research and practice. It contains information derived from journals, reports, books and conferences and contains over 1 million scientific records from 1973 - present. Global Health can be accessed from our homepage by clicking on Ovid in the gray toolbar or from our A-Z website.

  • Global Health (OVID)

  • Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health (Gale)

    Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

  • Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)

    Explore the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management with Health Business FullTEXT.

  • Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)

    This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)

    A consumer-health database.

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

    This resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child + Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, Western Journal of Nursing Research, and many more.

  • Health Technology Assessment - HTA

    The Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions). The abstracts in the database are descriptive rather than analytical and do not provide critical appraisals of the reports. The HTA database includes systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations.

  • HealthSTAR (Ovid)

    Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Highwire Press

    HighWire's approach to online publishing of scholarly journals is not simply to mount electronic images of printed pages; rather, by adding links among authors, articles and citations, advanced searching capabilities, high-resolution images and multimedia, and interactivity, the electronic versions provide added dimensions to the information provided in the printed journals.

  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)

    This is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal.  IUPUI subscribes to the following sections:

    • Bioengineering
    • Clinical and Translational Medicine
    • General
    • Immunology & Infection
    • Neuroscience

  • Journals@Ovid Full Text (Ovid)

    The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MEDLINE (EBSCO)

    Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.

  • MEDLINE (Ovid)

    The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge) (1950-Present)

    The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.

  • MEDLINE In-Process & Non-Indexed Citations (Ovid)

    Database of MEDLINE records in progress.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Natural Standard: the authority on integrative medicine

    Natural Standard was founded by clinicians and researchers to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team systematically gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural Standard databases. 

  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database – NHSEED

    The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (EED) provides cost-benefit analyses about healthcare interventions. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.

  • Nursing & Allied Health Collection

    All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

  • Ovid Databases

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)

    Search the definitive database of pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.

  • Project Muse

    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.

  • PubMed

    PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Rehabilitation Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)

    Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a collection of streaming videos created specifically for the education and training of occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech-language pathologists, special educators and therapy assistants.  Therapist notes and leader guides are also included for most of the titles and the videos have been approved for educational use by accrediting agencies such as AOTA, APTA and ASHA.  New videos will be added regularly, ensuring that users always have the most up-to-date video content available. Videos may be replaced (and archived) in order to reflect changes in accepted practices and principles.

  • SciTech Connect

    SciTech Connect is your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

  • SpringerLink E-books

    Access to over 12,000 titles in the subject areas of science, technology, mathematics, medicine and nursing. Note: If book is available to IUPUI users, the box to the right of the title will be in green.

  • STAT!REF

    Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  IUPUI access includes the following:

    • AAFP Conditions A to Z (2013)
    • Best Practices in Infection Prevention and Control : International Perspective (2nd Ed : 2012)
    • Introductions to Epidemiology (5th Ed. : 2010)
    • MedCalc 3000: Complete Edition
    • Oxford Textbook of Public Health (5th Ed. : 2009)
    • Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (28th Ed. : 2006)

  • STAT!REF (Access to DSM-IV)

    Provides access to full-text electronic information in latest editions of medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries and indexes. Subjects range from emergency-critical care, nursing, oncology, pediatrics, point of care, primary care, psychiatry, pharmacology and cardiology.

  • UpToDate

    UpToDate is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians throughout the world provide the best patient care. We use current evidence to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. This saves clinicians time, improves outcomes and lowers health care costs.

  • Web of Knowledge

    The Web of Knowledge provides seamless access to the Web of Science indexes as well as Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, Inspec, MEDLINE and Zoological Record.

  • Web of Science

    The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Wiley Online Library

    More than 300 online publications for researchers and professionals.