CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Newspapers

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)

    19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)

    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.

  • African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century

    Access is available only within the library on library owned Windows computers.

  • Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest)

    Canadian Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the full text of Canadian newspapers.

  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (NewsBank)

    "Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this database lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to images of the books themselves." -University of Virginia Libraries

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

    An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

  • Factiva

    Factiva provides general and business news and information. Useful for monitoring and tracking company and industry trends alongside business forecasts, as culled from over 10,000 resources. Daily newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal and New York Times can be read here.

  • Historical Newspapers Online (Chadwyck-Healey)

    Historical Newspapers is a website for historians that provides valuable reference material for students of nineteenth- and twentieth-century history. Historical Newspapers contains four major historical resources:

    • Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times
    • The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980
    • The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922
    • Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times

  • Historical Newspapers The New York Times (ProQuest)

    Deep backfile for The New York Times (1851-current) with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Indianapolis Star (1991-present) (ProQuest)

    Not available in Columbus.

  • Indianapolis Star (Proquest Digital Microfilm)

    The Digital Microfilm™ offering is a new and exclusive ProQuest product that brings full-image newspaper archived content to your patrons the way they want it-digitally. Newspaper archived scans are accessed via the web, enabling multiple users to take advantage of full-image primary resource content inside and outside of the library. By bringing the newspaper microfilm experience online, the Digital Microfilm™ user experiences all of the same features and benefits of a traditional microfilm reader in an efficient virtual environment, saving you time, money, and space.

  • Indianapolis Star via CD-ROM (1993-1999)

    Access is available only within the library on library owned Windows computers.

  • LexisNexis Academic

    LexisNexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
    The 5,900 sources include:

    • National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
    • U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
    • Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
    • Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)

    Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • McClatchy-Tribune Collection (EBSCO)

    The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.

  • New York Times (1980-present) (Proquest)

    Including access to most of current day’s content.

  • New York Times, Historical with Index (ProQuest)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2005).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • NewsBank (Access World News)

    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

    This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

  • Newspapers (ProQuest)

    Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources and news wires; includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London as well as local and regional publications.

  • Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)

    19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)

    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

  • Proquest Digital Microfilm

    The Digital Microfilm™ offering is a new and exclusive ProQuest product that brings full-image newspaper archived content to your patrons the way they want it-digitally. Newspaper archived scans are accessed via the web, enabling multiple users to take advantage of full-image primary resource content inside and outside of the library. By bringing the newspaper microfilm experience online, the Digital Microfilm™ user experiences all of the same features and benefits of a traditional microfilm reader in an efficient virtual environment, saving you time, money, and space.

    Holdings are for the Indianapolis Star and Washington Post only. 

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ProQuest Newsstand (ProQuest)

    Search the full collection of newspapers.

  • Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive (Gale)

    The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

  • Times Digital Archive (Gale)

    The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online.
    By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

  • Wall Street Journal (Proquest Digital Microfilm)

    The Digital Microfilm™ offering is a new and exclusive ProQuest product that brings full-image newspaper archived content to your patrons the way they want it-digitally. Newspaper archived scans are accessed via the web, enabling multiple users to take advantage of full-image primary resource content inside and outside of the library. By bringing the newspaper microfilm experience online, the Digital Microfilm™ user experiences all of the same features and benefits of a traditional microfilm reader in an efficient virtual environment, saving you time, money, and space.